Interview No.2 Feedback, Masters Thesis, and PhD funding.

Standard

Hey all! Since my last post things have become more certain on the PhD front. I attended the interview at Newcastle and had a great time. The city and local area was nice and the building was fantastic. Everyone was so friendly and the supervisor on the project asked his post-doc to show me the facilities. I had a great time looking around and seeing the birds. I also had a lot of time to ask him questions about the people and wider university. On the whole, a great experience. Coming to the interview itself I was nervous as you would expect. The panel were 4 people which in itself is quite scary. My nerves were settled quickly as the interview was far more akin to a semi-casual chat about my interests and thoughts on the project than anything. The interviewers were really nice and seemed to be genuinely interested in my opinions on the topic. Overall, a great experience and I would have been happy to have done my PhD there. A week later I received their decision and it was a no ๐Ÿ˜ฆ This made me sad at first but it has made things more straight forward as I now know for sure where I’m going next year (St Andrews!). I emailed the supervisor straight away to thank him for the opportunity to apply and visit and for some constructive criticism regarding my application. His feedback was wonderful and greatly settled my esteem which had been knocked after the past few applications. Overall, it seemed that they had 5 very good candidates and they just needed to find something to distinguish us. He emphasised that he believed I would go on to PhD and do well. All is good ๐Ÿ™‚

My masters project is continuing to progress which is nice! I’ve gathered some nice data showing that the labelling on the cells will work and will be soon testing the main hypothesis! It is a tad stressful as I’m balancing data collection with write up (which sometimes means taking images from the lab and putting them straight into the thesis) but it’s all part of the experience ๐Ÿ™‚ I be continuing the project past submission so even if the thesis is lacking in the final results I will still get to test them ๐Ÿ™‚ Nothing else to report on my project bar receiving written feedback on my oral presentation (โ€œStudent Seminarโ€ a few weeks ago. The three markers all provided strong and constructive feedback on my presentation which is going to help for the future! (I have two more presentations to give this year).

Now. St Andrews. I have been in search of funding for my PhD. The past week I have emailed a number of relevant societies to see if they offer funding and I have 4 good options so far ๐Ÿ™‚ in an idea situation I’d be granted full funding such that I could start full-time but I am also pursuing part-time options such as looking for P/T technician and research associate jobs as well as bar work. The former options would be preferred as I would be gaining relevant and valuable experience but an income is an income to some extent. Hopefully this goes well. I’m moving to the St Andrews area either way as my partner has a fully funded place for PhD in the same school :).

Things are generally positive at the moment and plans for now are to get this thesis submitted and continue looking for funding and housing in the St Andrews area ๐Ÿ™‚

Thank you for reading.

BCT

One thought on “Interview No.2 Feedback, Masters Thesis, and PhD funding.

Leave a Reply

