Frustrating Delays, a Welcomed Break, and a Bit of Self-Reflection

Standard

Hello all 🙂

The last two months have been generally pretty good albeit it quite slow. I thought this would be a good point to comment on dealing with setbacks beyond your control as well as being aware of yourself.

Frustrating Delays

As you may know, my experiment has been going very slowly so far. This is partly due to its nature (there’s a lot of time needed for things to mature before any testing can be done) and partly due to limits beyond my, and my lab’s control. We waited for 4-5 months for some equipment whilst there was miscommunication with the supplier. Eventually though it all came and this predated my experiment. Following this an accessory piece took a total of 9 months with my lab-mate bothering the suppliers weekly by phone. We were all miffed. Unfortunately, they are the primary supplier of both and the exclusive supplier of the latter. Thankfully a secondary supplier for the former was found and when we needed more it took but 3 days from order to delivery! Whoop! Winning! More recently, however, the same lab-mate has been waiting on MORE equipment, albeit it from a different supplier. I feel so sorry for them for they are a lot more pressured in terms of deadlines than I am. They have been left essentially sat twiddling their metaphorical thumbs. How this affects me is that by the nature of any working environment space and equipment are shared. I need some of the resources currently used by my lab-mate who cannot be relieved of them until the second troublesome product is sorted out. So it’s one small chain of waiting in some ways. I don’t really have any decent advice for dealing with this kind of issue other than to be patient and polite whilst standing your ground with suppliers and be thankful for the relative down time and perhaps use that to get things sorted which you won’t have time for at another day. Overall, set-backs occur and we all need to ensure that as few of them as possible are due to us.

A Welcomed Break

I had a holiday! Whoop! My partner and I went away to a resort in Turkey for two weeks and I also took three whole weeks away from the bill-payer. Never have I appreciated some down time as much as that holiday. The one thing I realised was that we don’t really notice when a break is needed until we either…break (down) or actually take one. On just my first day relaxing by the pool I felt a huge amount of tension released and in general far more relaxed. The holiday really provided a time for us to do nothing but stay relaxed and not even consider work of any kind whilst exploring the area and generally spending time together. Overall, everyone needs down time and I don’t mean the time in the week when I get to watch the films you’ve been meaning to (though this kind of personal time is important) but to actually get away mentally and unwind really benefits us all. If you’re getting to the point where you’re feeling every more down in the dumps, finding it difficult doing what you’ve been doing before, or that you’re simply not enjoying it any more then consider a holiday. No one is going to begrudged you taking some you time so even if it’s just a long weekend away walking in the hills just do it. It’s very refreshing.

A Bit of Self-Reflection

Building on take time for yourself is learning to be aware of your own needs, abilities, and desires. By this I mean that we all have different strengths, lessons to learn, perhaps misconceptions about our own abilities, as well as ways in which we work best. Think: is what you’re doing the best for you? Is it what you expected? Do you need more enforced structure or are you good at self-discipline? It’s not the easiest thing to know and I’m sure no one ever gets there entirely but it’s important to be able to at least approach this sense of self. That, I suppose, is also one reason why I maintain this blog: it allows me to look back at issues and see how I dealt with them as well as see if I’ve got better and dealing with situations. I’ll garnish this by talking about myself.

I’ve always wanted to be a teacher. I say always…since I was approximately 14 I’ve wanted to be a teacher. More specifically: a science teacher. It seemed a no brainer to me as I was always so inspired by teachers, and nature in all its varieties had me in awe. I did the usual thing of going to uni and whilst there I found interest in being the person who answers someone of the questions of nature myself; i.e. to be a researcher. This all led me to where I am now. Since starting I’ve very much enjoyed what I’ve been doing. Learning both intellectually and practically is great and my topic is fascinating. I also have gained experience teaching which has been amazing. And that’s exactly what makes me think: am I enjoying teaching more than research? It was also teaching which came first before but then again I haven’t really gone through the full motions of research and had a result at the end to get excited about so is it too early to judge? It’s something I need to learn about myself and my aims but I can only do that by continuing and hopefully finding an answer! Either decision is good by I do fear a sense of “what now?” if I find research isn’t for me because for a few years it’s been the only real option to me. Additionally, I’ve had issues with motivation and organisation. I’m learning about myself that without small goals/deadlines I find it difficult to get myself going and for this reason I’ve started giving myself immediate-, short-, and long-term goals so that I’m always working towards something.

A final example is a very important albeit rarely considered one: when is it best to work? I myself am a mega early-type. I fall asleep between 9 and 11 and wake up with the sun (so around 4:30am at the moment) thus for me working early in the morning is best. I’ve known this for a while. My issue at the moment is that my trips to the bill-payer are always in the evening and sometimes don’t end until gone midnight. By the time I’m home, relaxed, and ready for sleep I then do so badly as I start waking up in but a few hours. There’s not really an easy answer to this but the point is that we all need to work out when we work best and to try and fit our days into that as much as possible. Night owl? Try working from the afternoon. Morning lark? See if you can have you working day start nice and early. It’s remarkable how much of an effect sleeping and working at times unnatural to yourself can have (think jetlag!).

This is one of the longest posts I’ve made and the point I’m trying to get across is that we all need to try to be more aware of our needs and wants and different ways of being. The more we can learn about ourselves the more we can tailor our approaches to all aspects of our lives to do so as well as we possibly can. What’s the secret to doing this? No idea. But I’m sure that starting by trying to be more self-aware is the first step.

The next two months will involve actually starting the real crux on my experiment (whoop!) and continuing my personal development. Bar that, I’m just happy to be more focussed and relaxed than a few months ago.

Thanks for reading 🙂

BCT

Leave a Reply

